Shirking Morals

*

The eyes dart here and there,

In the corner, a paper is heard as it begins to tear,

The teacher is at her desk, oblivious and without a care,

While I cover my paper since I don’t like to “share.”

*

I was told, “Cheaters never prosper” as I grew bigger,

However, the cheaters and classes increased with rigor.

What had been done to serve as a trigger?

And why had all my classmates lost their vigor?

*

They had developed a system to distribute the work,

This I had decided, is temporary and far from a quirk,

But no, it grew to others, and I began to become irked,

My classmates were unable to do work by themselves without needing to shirk.

*

As the days passed, my mind began to turn,

Maybe it was my turn to cheat, this I’ve earned.

But with the thought my stomach churned,

This is neither what I had been taught nor what I’d learned.

*

When it came to questioning my morals, I had to disagree.

The daily procedures of others did not concern me,

Others could do as they please,

But for me, I would stick with what I believed.

*

